Week 17 + La Peña!!!

June 30, 2014

Hola!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Okay, so today you guys are gonna get A LOT of pictures because for P-Day we went to La Peña de Bernal, which is pretty much this giant rock. Like, it’s the 3rd largest rock (peña) in the world, or something. And I actually hiked it. Well, 3/4 of the way up because I think the rest we needed equipment or we ran out of time or whatever. It was pretty exhausting but the view was so worth it. Since it’s a lot of pictures, I’m gonna send them as attatchments in separate emails and just put a few in this one.
Originally this was supposed to be a zone activity, but none of the elders in the other district were able to get a ride (the only way we could go was if a brother/sister from our wards could take us, stay there with us, and then give us a ride back), so it ended up being just a district activity. Hermano y Hermana Kinsey (he’s from Arizona but married a Mexicana) was kind enough to take us and also bought us all breakfast and snacks and he was just awesome. This us with them and their dog Bruno in front of one of the million catholic churches that were in the little pueblito.
IMG_0146

My district!
My district!
This is us after climbing the Peña (it's that giant rock thing behind us). While we were up there, we found two other elders from the other zone here in Queretaro who had gone by themselves because no one from their district could get a ride.
This is us after climbing the Peña (it’s that giant rock thing behind us). While we were up there, we found two other elders from the other zone here in Queretaro who had gone by themselves because no one from their district could get a ride.
And here am I at the top of the peña. Well, not all the way at the top but pretty close. I still can't believe I actually made it up there.
And here am I at the top of the peña. Well, not all the way at the top but pretty close. I still can’t believe I actually made it up there.

IMG_0230 IMG_0224 IMG_0216 IMG_0200 IMG_0190 IMG_0167 IMG_0164 IMG_0163 IMG_0158 IMG_0151 IMG_0139

So yeah! That was my P-Day. It was a ton of fun though now we are all exhausted. We were all joking around saying how we should write to Presidente saying that we shouldn’t have to do exercises the rest of the year because with the hike it was sufficient. Also, for all of us (menos our district leader Elder Lima), it was our first time visiting the peña and we were like ‘first and last time’ because holy cow. I’m surprised I didn’t get a nose bleed from that hike.
As for my week, well it was pretty good. We’re still working on finding more people to teach but little by little we’re starting to reach our goals which is awesome. I can’t believe it’s already the last week of transfers! Ahhhh, I really hope we can all stay the same for another one because it’s been so much fun and my zone/district is pretty awesome. But I still have a week to find out what’s gonna happen. There really isn’t much other news to say – it’s still raining a lot but I haven’t gotten sick, which is great. And yeah. Hope everyone is doing well back home!
Looooooooooooooooove,
Hna. Sanabria
Leave a Reply

