Week 20 + HOLY COW I’M 20!!!!

July 21, 2014

IMG_0265

Hoooooooooooooooolaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa!!!!!!!!!!!!!
So yeah. Today’s my birthday and I’m officially no longer a teenager. This picture is from Saturday – my companion had bought a mini cake on Saturday and we ate it in celebration of it being my almost last day as a teenager. And yes, that is a match instead of a candle that’s on top of my cake.
Today was pretty fun. My zone leaders told me last week to pick out what I wanted to do for today, but since everyone is broke  – what with it being the end of the month and all – I was just like ‘I dunno, whatever you guys wanna do’. So the elders ended up deciding to go play soccer at 7 in the morning and I was just like ‘eh why not’. I played for like 30 minutes, running around the field not having a clue what I was doing, until the hermanas and I decided to just give up and go talk on the sidelines, haha. But it was still fun. Honestly, I just kind of wanted to hang out with my zone because they’re a lot of fun.
We ended up going back to the chapel and just hung around. We played like a few games and then one of my zone leaders (Elder Dominguez) was like ‘everyone go outside we’re gonna play water balloons’ and so we all went out. Then next thing I know, all of the Latino missionaries are throwing eggs at me and screaming happy birthday. Apparently that’s a Mexican tradition for someone’s birthday (except they also through flour but they forgot to bring it). It happened so fast that I kinda didn’t know what was going on. One thing I was waiting around, and then suddenly I’m covered in eggs.
It was pretty funny seeing all of the American missionaries’ faces. They were all like ‘what the heck is going on?’ and just so shocked that the Latinos would do that. My other zone leader (Elder Brown) was so mad at his companion and he kept asking me if I was okay and if I was mad and just making sure that my day hadn’t been ruined or whatever. He’s usually pretty laidback but these last few weeks he’s been a little cranky because this is his last transfer – though the other hermanas and I are always getting onto him about how he’s not allowed to be cranky at us. But yeah, so he was super ‘preocupado’ but I was just like ‘don’t worry about it, this is great’. I mean, it was gross but I feel like I’m officially Mexican now. Then after the shock wore off, everyone started laughing and we cleaned up the church. So it all turned out good.
This is me with Elder Atwood (he's from my generation!). We were talking when the whole egg shebang happened and his sweatshirt unfortunately got caught in the cross fire.
This is me with Elder Atwood (he’s from my generation!). We were talking when the whole egg shebang happened and his sweatshirt unfortunately got caught in the cross fire.
And here I am with the mastermind behind the whole thing. Hermana Rodriguez was the one who bought the eggs and gave them to the Latino elders. She didn't want to hug me cuz I was all covered in egg yolk but I was like 'too bad, this is revenge'.
And here I am with the mastermind behind the whole thing. Hermana Rodriguez was the one who bought the eggs and gave them to the Latino elders. She didn’t want to hug me cuz I was all covered in egg yolk but I was like ‘too bad, this is revenge’.
And yeah! That was my day. Tonight I’m gonna go with some recent converts and they’re gonna make me chilaquiles (probably my favorite food I’ve eaten here) so I’m super happy about that. The other hermanas in my area were gonna buy a cake for today, but since we had to be at the soccer field at 7, they were like ‘we’ll eat it tomorrow at district meeting’. Plus, there’s this family in the ward that kind of just adopts us missionaries, who are gonna give me cake on Sunday when we eat with them, so it’ll be good.
Thanks for you guys all writing me this week! I think this is the first time that all three of the potos wrote me the same week, so that was a nice surprise. Oh, and HAPPY 21st BIRTHDAY TO JD!!!!! Lila sent me pictures of that feast you guys and I may be just the slightest bit jealous. I can always count on JD to pig out on his bday. I’m glad you’re all doing well and that you had a good time.
And now for a few more photos:
Here are the hermanas and I at a stake activity from last night. Our stake has a youth choir that's really good and so they did this program that was a little a la 'music and the spoken word', and it was really beautiful.
Here are the hermanas and I at a stake activity from last night. Our stake has a youth choir that’s really good and so they did this program that was a little a la ‘music and the spoken word’, and it was really beautiful.
Elder Atwood sleeping it out right after we got back from playing soccer, haha.
Elder Atwood sleeping it out right after we got back from playing soccer, haha.
And just a little more Mexican artwork for you.
And just a little more Mexican artwork for you.
So yeah! That’s it for now and I hope you all have a greaaaaaaaaaat week! This week there’s an EFY going on for all the stakes in Queretaro and all of the missionaries here are invited to participate on Wednesday, so that’ll be fun. But more details next week!
Love you!
Hna Sanabria
Leave a Reply

