Week 32 + TODOS SOMOS UNO! (Zone Conference, Family History Fair, and the Sistine Chapel)

October 13, 2014

Okay so this week has actually been pretty packed. On Tuesday I had zone conference which was in Celaya, about an hour and 15 minutes away from our area (we’re the farthest from everyone), and since this conference was 4 1/2 hours, it pretty much took up our entire day. But it was so worth it because holy cow, I love my zone! My zone and sister-training leaders are amazing! One of them is Hermana Rodriguez, one of the sisters who I shared Tejeda with my last 2 transfers there and it was so awesome seeing her again.

The reason this conference was so long was because there are a ton of new programs that the mission is going to start implementing. And I am so, so, SO excited for them! The first is called TODOS SOMOS UNO which Presidente decided to do to help promote zone unity. What it is, is that once a week during each transfer, the whole zone goes to an area of the zone and works there for the whole day. We’re going to visit members, investigators, inactives, recent converts, and also do a lot of contacting. This idea came from the Book of Mormon, where Captain Moroni goes to each of the different cities and helps fortify it so that it is strong enough to withstand the Lamanites. We’re starting this Friday and of course, my area is the first one up! We’ll kind of be the guinea pigs for this program, but I’m totally okay with that because I am just so excited for this program.
Another programs we’re gonna start doing is a 40-Day Fast with the ward, where for a period of 40 days, one family or member of the ward will fast for ‘la obra misional’ and also specifically for our investigators. This has already been done in a few areas in the mission and it has had a ton of success in strengthening the spirituality of the ward/members/missionaries and so I’m really excited for that.
Another program is ‘Dinner With the Bishop’, where the missionaries invite the bishop over to their home and cook them dinner. That night is meant to gain the trust of the bishop and just strengthen our relationship with him – though we’re already pretty close with our bishop. But I still think it’s a really cool idea.There are a few other programs, but I left my notebook at home so I guess it’ll have to wait until next week.
So that was Tuesday. Then on Saturday, I once again travelled to Celaya for a stake Family History Fair. And it was so cool!
oct13
All the missionaries in the stake – we’re two zones – were invited to help and also participate and I am so, so, so glad for that opportunity. The spirit of Elijah was SO STRONG and I left that fair with a huge desire to start doing family history work. I learned how to use FamilySearch and also looked up my Family Tree for the first time (I know, it’s really sad that it’s taken me this long to get into family history work) and learned how to look up ancestors. So yeah, Mom, we’re going to be doing a lot of genealogy when I get back. Because that fair kind of changed my life.
Aside from the fair being super spiritual, it was alsoa ton of fun because I got to hang out with like, 30 missionaries. There were a few from my generation and others from previous areas and just more that I’ve met a long the way, so the whole day was kind of this huge catching up moment. We took A TON of pictures, which I’m going to send to Mom in separate emails so she can post for everyone else. My face was so sore at the end of the day from smiling and laughing so much. It was great.
oct13 (1)
Here we all are (well, most of us anyway) dog piling it right before one of the workshops started. It pretty much captures our two zones perfectly.
Now, for my P-Day, it was pretty cool. We went to this santuario about 30 minutes away where there is this gorgeous catholic chapel that has murals painted all over its ceiling, just like the Sistine Chapel in Rome. An investigator of my district leader took us there and was our tour guide the whole day. We ate tamales, gorditas, and quesadillas on the street and it was so stinking good. And then once we got back to San Miguel, Fermin (the investigator) took us on a tour of all of the cathedrals in San Miguel – and there are a ton. It was really interesting though and I got a lot of pictures. So yeah, my P-Day was pretty much spent in Catholic churches (we even entered a Mass which was interesting but once the chanting started, I started to feel weird so we left).
oct13 (2)
And that’s it for this week! Hope you’re all doing well and have an awesome week!
Loooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooove,
Hermana Sanabria
Leave a Reply

