Week 56 + Opposition, the Adversary, Miracles, and some Big Heroes!

March 30, 2015

IMG_0392

So this week was zone council, and it was another good one! It was pretty much just 3 1/2 hours of getting deep into the doctrine of the Plan of Salvation. It was pretty awesome. Lately, the weekly letters we get from Presidente have all been based on opposition, agency, enduring to the end, and just a bunch of other awesome topics that have been helping me so much, especially at this point in my mission.
Our entire zone council was based off of an article from this month’s Ensign/Liahona, so instead of sharing all of my notes, I’m just gonna send ya’ll the link.
Yeah, the title kinda explains itself.
Anyway, this past week I was in divisions with Hermana Green in Leon. This is the second time we’ve done divisions together and it was so much fun. We’ve become pretty good friends and we were able to learn so much from each other, so I guess you can say it was a pretty successful exchange. I was also super stoked to find out that Hermana Green got accepted into BYU-I and so we’ll be seeing each other this fall! It actually turns out that practically half of the missionaries here are gonna be going to BYU-I afterwards, which just makes me so happy.
This week has actually turned out to be a week of good news.
When I was on splits, one of my investigators accepted a baptismal date! This is seriously a miracle, because when we first met with this investigator, he was just so closed and hard-hearted to the gospel. But in these 2 weeks that we’ve been teaching him, he has changed so much! It was definitely all the Spirit, but I’m just so grateful that the Lord has allowed me to be the instrument in His hands to allow for this child of His to feel the Spirit and experience a change of heart.
Some other good news – we reached a total of 105 people in attendence on Sunday! When the branch president told us this during branch council, I just wanted to cry. Lagos has been growing and changing SO MUCH in these 3 months that I’ve been serving here. My first Sunday, there were maybe like, 25 people in attendence. And to see it quadruple in size has just been amazing. Presidente Alvarez, the branch president, told us that Lagos will most likely become a ward by the end of this year. THIS IS HUGE NEWS! Lagos has been a branch for more than 20 years and to witness this mighty change is just incredible.
On Sunday, we actually ended up eating with Presidente Alvarez and his family, and he was sharing with us just how grateful he was for how hard we (the four missionaries) have been working. I know that all of these miracles are because of the Lord, but again, I’m just so grateful I’ve been able to help out and be a small part in it.
IMG_0423
Here’s a picture of me with his two adorable daughters, Camila and Andrea. They’re kinda my favorite, and no it’s not just because one of them shares my name. 😉
And then of course, there’s all the good news coming from back home. Seriously, I can’t begin to describe how proud I am of Dalila choosing to serve a mission. It is literally the best decision anyone can make and I know that the people of Brazil are gonna be so blessed because of her.
Also…. WHAT THE HECK IS UP WITH EVERYONE GETTING MARRIED?!?! Seriously, no one even had a girlfriend when I left and now there’s gonna be 3 weddings before I even come home? Hahaha, but I’m also super proud of the guys for their decisions and also glad to have 3 new cousin-in-laws. That’s actually the best decision anyone can make and so I’m super happy to hear that three more of the guys are taking that huge step towards eternal progression.
And to wrap things up, so today we got permission to watch a movie as a district from Presidente. He recommended ‘Big Heroes’ (at least that’s what I think it’s called) and holy cow, I totally recommend it to all of ya’ll. It’s super cute and I can see why Presidente let us watch it. It teaches you so much about the importance of opposition in your life and also about being humble, and it also just made me super grateful for the Plan of Salvation and my family. Seriously, ya’ll should watch it (that is, if you haven’t seen it already because who knows how long that movie’s been out. The mission is kinda a black whole when it comes to worldly stuff).
And yeah! That’s kinda it for this week!
Loooooooooooooooooove,
Hna Sanabria
IMG_0388
Leave a Reply

